State Route 180
  South Gippsland Highway
  home | SR Index | features | links
Intersection Direction Signs at Korumburra - Warragul Road / South Gippsland Hwy in Korumburra.
Vicroads photo ~ 1997. Photo courtesy Sam Laybutt.

Designated Names
Name List - Column 1 & 2
Current Route Number
Post 1998 - Column 3

South Gippsland Highway Princes Highway, Dandenong - Korumburra-Bena Rd, Bena MR12, M240, A440
South Gippsland Freeway Korumburra-Bena Rd, Bena - Korumburra-Warragul Rd, Korumburra A440
South Gippsland Highway Korumburra-Warragul Rd, Korumburra - Princes Highway, Sale A440


in Kilometres


Northern Terminus

Princes Highway East, Sale

Southern Terminus

Princes Highway East, Dandenong


1985 - 1997


Route - Column 1
Path - Column 2
Length (km) - Column 3

Metropolitan Route 12 Greens Road, Dandenong South - Pound Road, Dandenong South 1
  State Route 180 was the first State Route to be signed in Victoria on December 13 1985. SR180 traversed the entire route of South Gippsland Hwy from Dandenong to Sale, incorporating a small section single carriageway freeway near Korumburra.

The South Gippsland Hwy is the primary route through South and West Gippsland, including popular tourist destinations such as Phillip Island and Wilson's Promontory.
was the terminus of state routes 175 (unsigned), 181, 182, 188 and 189; and metropolitan routes 60, 61 and 63.

In 1997, the entire route was replaced by M420 and B440 in the Statewide Route Numbering Scheme, with B440 changing to A440 in 2000.

Further Reading

South Gippsland Highway

©  Main Roads Victoria. Last Updated: 27/11/13